Longarm quilting and snippets of my life

I’ve wanted to see fireworks on the beach for quite a few years, and I finally got to realize that dream. It was everything I hoped it would be. There were families with huge bonfires, and store bought fireworks, (some of the illegal variety), for about 3 miles of the beach. It was very festive and the energy was great. We walked down the beach a couple of miles towards the town of Manzanita where there was to be a big display of action. We stopped about a mile from the town. It was a little windy, so we hunkered down behind a large piece of driftwood and waited for the big event. It was so fun to watch the action from my viewpoint. The sunset was beautiful, the wind stopped just in time for the fireworks. It was a great night.

On one of our walks we came upon this eagle I think he was just finishing his meal. I have a pretty good zoom on my camera, but I was able to get really close to him before he flew off. Very cool!

Jim and I had wonderful long walks on the beach… sounds so romantic! We really pooped out our pup though.

Before we left I was able to color in the guitar piece I had started. I really wanted to get this far before I left because it takes 3-5 days for the paint to cure. I’m thinking I’m liking it, not bad for a first try, but I’m going to darken the outlines somehow. I’m still working on what do do. I think I may try a different technique next time. Maybe something Deb Levy taught on 3 Creative Studios…it’s still marinating in my brain.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

