Longarm quilting and snippets of my life

Things are getting more settled in our new house. I’m getting tired of unpacking and trying to make a decision on absolutely everything I touch. I’ve come to the conclusion that I have way too much crap! It’s amazing how much you accumulate over time. We went through and got rid of a ton of stuff when we moved out of our old house, and I still have a lot of stuff. That’s especially true when it comes to my sewing/quilting/craft type stuff. I have a very hard time letting go of something when I know it could have a life as something eles. I’m really trying to consider whether or not I’ll really use it before I put it away. I was able to get my studio more organized. I taped off an area that will be my new A-1. Here’s what it looks like as of today. my studio from the door   my sewing area  more of my sewing niche  back towards the doorThe blue tape on the floor represents my longarm machine. It’s still a mess, but I’m making progress. My husband is going to put cabinets above my sewing area, so then I should be able to have all my stuff in one space.

We brought Rex, one of our dogs, home last night. He was more nervous than I expected him to be, it was the first time in this house. He completely refused to walk on the vinyl floor. It was pretty funny, but we worked him through it and he’s walking all over the place now. He is very afraid of slipping, this floor isn’t slippery, but he had to find out for himself. We’ll get Tucker, our golden retriever, when we get a fenced yard for him to go out in and do his business. Then our whole family will be together again. Whew!

I’m getting the itch to start working on my quilt that I’m making for our bedroom. I don’t have a quilt on our bed yet. It’s a king size bed, so it’s quite an undertaking to make something for it. I’m piecing a Tennessee Waltz pattern. It’s easy, just a lot of blocks for that big of a quilt.

I’m putting my feet up for the night, and I’ll get back to it all tomorrow. I’ll post pics of my new machine when it arrives. Stay tuned.

Comments on: "Getting more organized" (3)

  1. TeresaL said:

    Carie, I love the light that you have in that room and the sheer size of your space. I look forward to seeing photos of you grinning ear to ear as you use that new machine within the week! 😀

  2. carlafibers said:

    We have a Rex, too! How many days before you get your new machine?

  3. carieshields said:

    We should be able to go pick it up in Portland tomorrow. Lynn will be here to set it up on Tues. Only 2 more days before I get to play!

Leave a Reply

