Longarm quilting and snippets of my life

We had a very busy weekend. First of all, I finally finished that applique quilt I was working on. It took me about 22 hours to quilt this thing. Here’s a little show and tell for you. roxannes-applique.jpgcenter-of-roxannes-applique.jpgpomigranite-on-roxannes-applique.jpgback-of-roxannes-applique.jpg  My customer/friend didn’t want any stitching on the applique. I feel very lucky that my she let me buy this quilt from her. I had asked her when she first brought it to me. She usually just puts her quilts in the closet. It will look beautiful in my living room. She came by today to pick it up to put the binding on for me. I’m thrilled, it’s a win/win for both of us. Especially since I did way more quilting than she asked for. When I was doing all this quilting I was thinking that maybe I would enter it in some shows. I’m not sure if I will or not. There’s a lot of places that aren’t perfect, but if it was going in a closet it wouldn’t matter. Now, I’m not so sure. I guess I’ll wait until it’s hanging in my house and I can take a good long look at it.

We (meaning my husband) planted 6 trees in our backyard this weekend. It looks good to have something growning even if they’re just sticks in the ground. We got 5 maple trees, and 1 red barked curly willow. We’re trying to block the fact that we now have neighbors directly behind us. We’ve never had that before in all the houses we’ve lived in. It’s an adjustment, the trees will help. <grow, grow, grow> We also stained our back fence. It took a long time, but it looks really nice. I’m exhausted, and satisfied.

I also painted a wall in my studio. I’ll post pics of that next time. I think I like it.

Comments on: "What a great weekend" (5)

  1. TeresaL said:

    Carie, the quilting is lovely!

  2. Cindy said:

    Wow, That turned out beautiful. I’m so glad you were able to convince her to sell it to you. That was alot of work you did and to think it would have been in a closet. Now it will hang in a great place.
    Cindy

  3. Beautiful work, Carie! You should be very proud of yourself! I’m also glad you enjoyed your time working in the yard with Jim. Sounds like a fabulous weekend! 🙂

  4. Wow that is really pretty! Congratulations on purchasing that.

    Funny when I looked at the closeups I realized that I have some of that oriental fabric………….I do not have much left but I have some………….smile!

  5. carlafibers said:

    I especially LOVE the quilt back photo!! Good job in purchasing it!

Leave a Reply

