Longarm quilting and snippets of my life

This weekend, we had some wild weather here in northern Oregon. In fact, it’s still wild out there. We’ve had over 5″ of rain here in the last 48 hours. We’re used to getting a bunch of rain, just not all at once. There’s flooding everywhere. We were sent home from school because they closed the buildings down. One of the elementary schools is now a Red Cross evacuation site. Maybe I’ll end up with tomorrow off too! One of the pluses of living in a new development, is that our trees aren’t very big. At least I don’t have to worry about a big tree crashing through my house.

Over the weekend, I didn’t have any customer quilts to work on. Everything I have I’m waiting until Jan. to do. So, I took the opportunity to play a little. I’m the type of person who gets an idea in her head, and I want to do it, like yesterday. I’ve been planning a quilt in my head so I figured I could practice a little of what I want to do, to see if and how it will work out. I drew this design, using Renae’s Rays  on some sateen fabric and loaded it onto my longarm. star-1.jpg star-2.jpg I wanted to create a mariners compass star, only using thread. I didn’t have too much of a plan when I started. Those white lines will come off with steam. I was getting kind of confused when I was drawing it, so I decided that I would figure that out as I went along. It’s giving me a chance to try some background fills. star-3.jpg star-4.jpg So far, so good, as I’m making it up as I go along. I probably shouldn’t have even been at my machine during a wind storm, but it’s hard for me to not act on those impulses to get something out of my head. I was excited that they let us go home from work so I can get more done, but the winds aren’t letting up, and I don’t know how much more I can tempt fate. What am I supposed to do, sit and read a book?!?

(If someone out there could tell me how to do a link, I would be grateful. I’m computer challenged)

Comments on: "It’s a blustery day!" (5)

  1. That is looking wonderful, Carie. To do a link, highlight the name or words you want to link with your mouse. When you do that, the little piece of “chain” at the top of your text box will be activated. I think you will know what I mean when you see it. Click on that, and a popup box comes up, and you fill in the blanks. It will ask for the url address you want to link to, whether you want it to open in a new window or same, and a name. Fill it in, and voila! Hope that makes sense.

  2. carieshields said:

    Oh, thank you, thank you, thank you. I changed the link to Renae’s web site and it was easy! Thank you.

  3. TeresaL said:

    Carie, it looks wonderful!

    Randi, thank you for the tutorial. 🙂

  4. Oh wow, Carie! This is looking awesome! I’m so glad that you are putting some of those ideas onto fabric! I’ve been thinking a lot about you and wondering how you were weathering the storms. Stay indoors and be safe. I hope you get a few more days of creative play time! Hugs, my friend.

  5. Carie, this is so beautiful! I love the thread colors you are playing with – they really bring out the detail against the darker background. I can’t wait to see it finished. Stay warm!

Leave a Reply

