Longarm quilting and snippets of my life

Art Walk

My sister, Cindy, and I went to an event called SE Art Walk. It takes place in SE Portland. About 50 artists participate in the event. Many of them open up their homes and studios and have there art displayed, much of it is for sale. We got a map of the designated stops and walked around a beautiful part of Portland that has gotten to be known as an artsy area. Many of the homes were built in the early 1900’s. We had a blast! Some of the art isn’t my style, but it was fun to talk to the many artists. Of course I had to do my part and support the arts. I bought this cute face from a lady that made these as garden art. She did some incredible work.face.jpg You can find her work here. He was just too cute to pass up. Right now he has a home in my studio. I plan to go next year.

I came home  and finished this baby quilt. bk-quilt.jpg My customer was thrilled. That’s always a good feeling.

My husband, Jim, installed some cabinets that we purchased at IKEA. These are for my fabric stash. For any non quilters out there, a stash is something we call our piles of fabric that we’ve purchased for future projects. Now, this makes me laugh when I think I can call this a stash fabric-stash.jpg It’s pretty pathetic compared to most. I’ve been quilting for almost 4 years now and I usually only buy fabric for a particular quilt and then I make that project before I move on. Most of the fabric in that cabinet was given to me when a friend cleaned out her stash. I do have a few projects that I haven’t been able to get to, and now that I have all this space, I think I’ll have to do some shopping.

Comments on: "Art Walk" (5)

  1. TeresaL said:

    Carie, the Art Walk sounds like a fun time and thing to do. I like the face you bought. I don’t know if you remember seeing them, but I have two faces on my back retaining wall, they are made out of resin so not as nice as yours, but still their goofy expressions make me smile whenever I look at them.

    I love the feathers you quilted!!

    Your stash does need improvement (how is that for encouraging you to do some heavy duty shopping for yourself? 🙂 ) and I have serious sewing space envy with your quilting room. The photo shows a great space with plenty of elbow room and many cheery favorite items.

    I enjoyed seeing your photos. Thank you for sharing.

  2. I love that face — just makes you want to pinch the cheeks!

    My goodness – your stash shows remarkable restraint. Mine is overflowing my studio. I really need some of those Ikea cabinets. I’ve had my eye on them for some time (various styles) and now that I’ve only got to go to Portland to get them instead of nearly to Seattle, it may be time to do it.

    Your sewing space looks wonderful.

  3. carieshields said:

    I love it! I need to go shopping for a stash improvement! I’m always looking to improve myself LOL. I love going to IKEA, even if most of the stuff isn’t my style. I just love looking at organizational stuff. What a nerd!

  4. You’z a nerd ‘cuz you like organizing stuff? No wonder we hit it off so well! 😉 LOVE the little garden face!

  5. Cindy said:

    Carie,
    I like how you moved your sewing counter around. Those cabinets are great. My yarn “stash” is better then yours Ha Ha big Neeener! I think It’s shopping time! I love all the quilts you posted. That black and white is great and baby quilt is very Manhattan.
    I had alot of fun going to the SE Art Walk with you, what a wonderful day, Thanks for going with me.
    Love ya Cindy

Leave a Reply

