Longarm quilting and snippets of my life

After lots of discussions between Jim and I, we’ve decided that I would be quilting full time after this school year is over. I’m so excited and a little scared at the same time. I’m currently an Educational Asst. in Special Education for grades K-4. It’s a very challenging job, but the rewards from the kids makes me go in and do it everyday. This change is something that I’ve been working towards for the past couple of years. I’m very excited and ready for the new challenges. I will be substituting to offset my quilting until I get busy enough to rely on it all by itself. I’m looking forward to being able to get to some of the quilt shows outside of my area. Jim’s looking forward to being able to get away for mini vacations. I would love to be able to go to the Huston show. I’ll finally feel like I have time to work on some of the projects that are swimming around in my head.

I’m on spring break now, and I’m planning on getting some of my quilts done. I think I may even make a spring purse. I bought this fabric at my local quilt shop yesterday. purse-fabric.jpg It’s some Amy Butler fabric that I’ve had my eye on, but I didn’t know what I would do with it. Yep, definitely a purse.

Comments on: "Another chaper in my life" (9)

  1. TeresaL said:

    Carie, I know how much you’ve hoped for this to happen. Congratulations and I know it will not be long before you will have a full quilting schedule.

  2. Good for you Carie! I’ve got another year and a few month until I can retire. My current day job is not rewarding, it’s brow-beating. I can’t wait till I can jet out the door. My business really seems to be picking up and I think I’ll be on track for retiring when I planned.

    Linda

  3. Woohoo!!! I’m tickled to pieces for you, Carie! Now we can challenge each other just a tad bit more! Love the new fabrics. I only wish I could have gone shopping with you. 😦

  4. Im just blog-hopping. I love your header, the quilting is really really cool. Looking forward to you posting photos of your cruise this summer. Thanks for sharing your art.
    Leah

  5. Congratulations, Carie! It’s a big step, but looking at your quilting I am sure that you will be very successful!

  6. carieshields said:

    Thank you all. Spring break is giving me an idea of what it will feel like. I’m loving it!

  7. carlafibers said:

    That’s GREAT news!! You will be too busy with quilts in no time! Btw, that material will make a terrific purse, too.

  8. twomoonbay said:

    Carie,

    Congrats on your retirement. I work with SpEd as a Para 9-12, DCD-S…I look at it this way…everyday is a new adventure.

    Enjoy your upcoming time to QUILT!!!

    Sue
    Duluth, MN

  9. Oh I so wish I could do that! Good for you!

Leave a Reply

