Longarm quilting and snippets of my life

Shashiko

I just finished a customer quilt that I tried Shashiko quilting on. I bought the template for it at Innovations a couple of years ago, but I’ve never tried it. This quilt needed some help, as far as I’m concerned. I figured it couldn’t hurt it to try something new. When she gave it to me, she asked it I could tone down the the lime green color. I’m a quilter for goodness sake, not a magician. So here it is, all finished. I did some leaves and ribbons in the printed center fabric. The template worked out really well, but it took a long time. I didn’t tone down the lime green, but I certainly added interest to it. .

Only 7 more work days, and I’m offically a full time quilter. WOOOHOO!!

My son’s high school graduation is on Friday, and the weather reports say it’s supposed to rain. The ceremony is usually outside. Let’s hope it’s moved indoors this year!

Comments on: "Shashiko" (2)

  1. TeresaL said:

    Only 7 more days? EXCITING and wonderful!!!! (probably a tiny bit scary, too….but you are a successful and talented quilter–you’ll do great!)

    I hope the rain holds off until after graduation. Congratulations to your son.

    I don’t find your customer’s quilt very attractive, but I do like the Shashiko quilting you’ve done on it.

    I hope the next 7 work days go by fast, are easy and enjoyable.

  2. Carie – I like the way you quilted this. I don’t know about toning down the lime green, but you certainly made it fit in with the rest of the quilt. I’m so jealous of your retirement timeline. I have a year and a half to go!

    Linda

Leave a Reply

