Longarm quilting and snippets of my life

My new friend

My wonderfully creative sister, Cindy, gave me a new friend for my birthday last week. She found the dress form on Craig’s List, and dressed her up with vintage bling that her friend had stored away. Isnt’ she just adorable?  Check out her bling. I just love this! She needs a name, but I haven’t thought of one yet. She sits quietly in the corner of my quilting studio, and she’ll keep me company while I quilt the day away. What more could I ask for?

I got a customer quilt done without any thread issues, (I’ve been having issues for a while).  I copied a design I saw on a pantograph. I’m not sure who the designer is, but I thought it would be a good look on this quilt, and I don’t do pantos, so I did my own version. I hope my customer likes it.

Today is Father’s Day. I took Jim out to breakfast and then we hit the water and went kayaking. We have our own sea kayaks that are 17′ long, and we paddled for 3 hours. It was the first time we’ve been on the water in about 2 years. It was perfect. It was about 73 degrees and sunny today. We saw several bald eagles, blue herons, and many other birds. The water level is really high because of snow melt. We had a huge amount of snow on the mountains during the winter. This allowed us to go into areas we’ve never been able to get to because the water was much deeper in the little creeks. It was a great day. I guess it was like my mother’s day too since I didn’t do anything on that day. I’m tired, but it’s a good tired. Tomorrow is my first day of working at my new full time quilting job. It will feel so good.

Comments on: "My new friend" (4)

  1. TeresaL said:

    Your new friend is cute and clever (your sister sounds like she has a great sense of humor).

    Best wishes on every success for your full time quilting!!

  2. carlafibers said:

    I am jealous!!! I want to new friend like that!! So creative and funny!! What a fun birthday present!

  3. I love her, Carie! Cindy is da bomb! As for a name….hmmm….CindyLu? 😉

  4. Cindy said:

    Carie,
    For some reason when I’ve been clicking onto your blog it hadn’t updated, So I thought you hadn’t been writing new entries. Well now I’m caught up. I’m so glad to see your Diva made your blog.
    You have been up to some fun adventures this summer.
    Love ya
    Cindy

Leave a Reply

