Longarm quilting and snippets of my life

Some good news

I got notification today that my quilt “Dream”, got accepted to Quiltfest. I really didn’t expect it to make the cut, and I’m thrilled. Now to make plans for a weekend in Seattle.

I’ve been working on a project, and I haven’t given out very many hints as to what it is. I’m done with part one and I’m ready to spill the beans. I was approached by an adorable older lady in my guild to quilt a quilt that she was asked to make. Her son-in-law works for Michael Curry Design, and they are producing the Las Vegas show for Criss Angel. They need a quilt for his upcoming show in August, actually they need 2 identical quilts. So, she pieced/appliqued the first one and I just finished quilting it today. It took a long time, with a gazillion starts and stops, which means that many tie offs. The quilt is 99×99 and the quilting designs were decided by them, using black thread on the white fabric and white thread on the black fabric with white on the back. I added some invisible quilting to hold it together better, that was my artisic contribution. There’s really not much quilting on it, but because of the size of the spaces, I had to take several passes to get one area done. Just think, I get to do another one just like it! She’ll come get this one tomorrow morning and bring me the second one. I’m not ready to do it all over again, but I’m excited to be a part of something like this. It’s so different than any quilts I’ve done so far. Stay tuned, maybe I’ll get a trip to see the show in person (crossing my fingers).

 

Comments on: "Some good news" (4)

  1. TeresaL said:

    Carie, first off, congratulations on your quilt being accepted at Quiltfest!

    How great about being asked to do the quilting for the quilts for Michael Curry Designs! He does some wonderful things and your quilts will be seen by a lot of people, what excellent exposure for you & your quilting business!

    I’ve been thinking about you and hoping you’ve been enjoying devoting your time to your quilting business. It sounds like you’ve had some wonderful things happening. I’m happy for you!

  2. It looks great, Carie! It’s going to be fabulous to know that something you were a part of will be in a show in Vegas! YeeHaw!

    Congratulations on your wholecloth being accepted in the show! You’ll definitely be winning more ribbons with that piece!

  3. carlafibers said:

    Congrats on getting accepted to Quiltfest!! That is indeed great news!

    I think it is great that you are doing the quilts for the CA show in Vegas.

  4. […] so this should be fun. Originally we made these plans to go to the Criss Angel show because I quilted a couple of quilts that were going to be used in the show. I recently saw the lady that pieced the […]

Leave a Reply

