Longarm quilting and snippets of my life

July 13, 2008

I was feeling antsy today. I couldn’t seem to settle on any one thing. I really didn’t feel like working on anything in particular and I was flitting from one thing to another trying to find what it was I was looking for. I ended up settling on making a feathered star block. I recently bought the Marti Michelle templates for making the star and all I had to do is figure out what fabrics to use. I had bought this fabric a couple of years ago  I just loved it and had to have it. I didn’t quite know what I was going to do, but it needed to come live with me for a while. I had read something recently, I don’t know where, that said to keep an idea journal, and keep things that inspire you. The author said to even keep fabric swatches that inspire you, that you may not use that fabric, but pull the colors from it. I pulled this from my stash and tried to figure out what made me feel that I had to have it. I realized that although the design is beautiful, it was the colors that inspired me. I took that thought and put together the feathered star, using the colors from this fabric as inspiration. This is what I ended up with  It’s just the beginning of something, I’m not quite sure where it’s going yet.

This is another fabric I just had to have, but didn’t know why, that I used for the pieces.  Now this looks like swiss cheese, but look at all that fabric that’s left…I’m going to have to sit on this for a while. I love how this turned out and it’s exactly what I needed. As of now, that antsy feeling is gone.

Oh, by the way, the templates were nice to work with and my piecing, although not perfect, was pretty good.

Comments on: "July 13, 2008" (2)

  1. carlafibers said:

    Carie, I’m in love with that fabric, too! You made a spectacular quilt block with all your fabric!

    You have certainly been prolific while I’ve been away…. Hugs, Carla

  2. wowzers carrie! that’s SOME feathered star block. thanks for sharing it with me. i love your color choices and your piecing is superb!

Leave a Reply

