Longarm quilting and snippets of my life

Sept. 8, 2008

I’ve managed to get one of my own quilts done. Actually, this is for my sister-in-law’s birthday. It’s a pattern called, “Jewel Box”, by Elenor Burns.  It was an easy pattern to make, but very boring. I think she’ll love it and she’ll be very surprised.

This is a hard time of year for us, as it’s the anniversary of our oldest son’s suicide. Last week was hard for me, Saturday was the anniversary date, but I tried to stay busy and just get through it. Man I miss him!!

I made a new purse, it’s good therapy to make a purse. You can’t have too many and you can get it done in a day.  I love this fabric, and it made a great fall purse. I used a Lazy Girl Design pattern called, “Miranda Bag”. It’s a little bit bigger than I like to carry, but I’m working with it.

I’m going to my local quilt shop to talk with the owner about teaching a quilting design class. She had the idea, and I’m still on the fence. I still feel like I’m learning myself, and I don’t know if I could teach anyone anything, but we’ll talk about it tomorrow.

Comments on: "Sept. 8, 2008" (5)

  1. TeresaL said:

    Carie, you and your family have been in my thoughts often these past few days.

    The jewel box quilt is so bright and cheery. I just remembered that I have a kit for that quilt that I bought last year at Quilt Expo (oops!).

    Miranda bag—–just bought that pattern a couple weeks ago but haven’t found the right fabric for it yet. Did you make extra pockets inside?

    I bet you’d do a great job in teaching–I hope you say ‘yes’ if it is something you’ve ever wished to do.

  2. carie said:

    The Miranda bag pattern has many pockets inside, I did add an outside pocket for my cell phone though.

  3. Brenda J said:

    My thoughts and prayers are with you and your family at this difficult time. Many hugs ((((((((((((())))))))))))))

  4. Hey, my friend, love that bag! Like you said, a girl can never have too many!

    You sure have been on my mind lately, and I wish I were there to give you a hug. Know that you are loved and appreciated.

  5. rondabeyer said:

    Carie,

    My heart goes out to you, everyday is hard some worse then others…. Sending you from another Mom of losing a son to suicide much love and warm hugs everyday……

Leave a Reply

