Longarm quilting and snippets of my life

October 3, 2008

I finally got done with the boring stuff on my quilt, and I’ve started with the feathers. I decided to use a design of a stencil I saw used on one of Carla’s blog posts. I bought the stencil, but it’s too big for the space I was going to use it on. I altered it by tracing the parts I wanted consistent onto a couple of layers of freezer paper. I used a purple air erase pen, and drew registration marks  Then I traced the design I made from freezer paper  I used painters tape to hold it down while I traced, this seems to make it a bit easier  Then I stitched it out adding freehand feathers  This is the stencil I used for my design . I think it’s going to look pretty cool when it’s all done. I think there’s about 50 of these blocks to stitch out.

Lunch is done, back to work!

UPDATE: I quilted several rows today, and I’m loving how it’s turning out.

Comments on: "October 3, 2008" (5)

  1. TeresaL said:

    Carie, I love the design and the quilt!

  2. It’s beautiful!!

  3. Wow, Carie! It’s looking fabulous! Great way to improvise!

  4. Carie – what a great way to alter a stencil to make it fit. Thanks for sharing the idea. The quilt and the quilting is just lovely.

  5. Sharon said:

    Ah, you already answered my question about the stencil. Could you please tell me who the seller is?

Leave a Reply

