Longarm quilting and snippets of my life

Feb. 16, 2009

I finished my first commissioned T-shirt quilt. This was for someone I used to work with when I worked at school. Her husband died in an airplane crash about a month before my son died. So, we kind of  had this weird thing in common, losing a loved one suddenly. I really like her, and have a lot of respect for her. Her 10 yr. old daughter had been wearing daddy’s t-shirts to sleep in, they were getting pretty worn out, so my friend asked if I could make them into a quilt. I needed 12 shirts to make 12 blocks, they only had enough for 8 blocks. I had never met dad, so I asked what kinds of things he liked. I was going to try to find fabric that would represent these things, but my artistic side took over. I decided to piece those 4 needed blocks. I really wanted to make this super special for the little girl. He sailed, they had a boat that was white with blue trim, he loved to read, he was a pilot, and he loved tye dye and peace signs. This was really touching to work on, and I enjoyed every minute I spent making it. I’ve called my friend to tell her it’s done, but I haven’t heard from her yet. Since you’ve read it this far, I think I should show some pictures. tshirt-quilt sail-boat books peace airplane And the back, swirls I can’t wait for them to see it.

Comments on: "Feb. 16, 2009" (2)

  1. Jorja said:

    I predict many tears will be shed when they see the finished quilt, your added blocks are awesome. Be sure to give us an update.

  2. wendysquilting said:

    What an awesome project and a true treasure for his daughter. You’ve done a beautiful job!

Leave a Reply

