Longarm quilting and snippets of my life

Aug. 5, 2009

I finally finished this large, customer’s Celtic Knot quilt. This took a long time to quilt (30+ hours), and I got delayed due to the heat wave we experienced here last week.celtic knot celtic block celtic border  I got the idea of the outside border design from Deb Levy’s instructions on MQ Resource. I think it works well with the theme of this quilt.celtic backceltic block back  Luckily I have air conditioning, but my studio is upstairs, over the garage, and it’s the warmest room in the house. We’ve cooled off now, and it’s been in the 80’s instead of 107+.

This weekend I’m going with my friends to our quarterly quilt retreat. I’m so looking forward to it. I’ll be able to work on some of my own projects. I’m not sure which ones I’ll be bringing, I haven’t had the time to even think about it. It really doesn’t matter anyway, I just enjoy being with my friends. I’m so fortunate and blessed.

I’ve been receiving fabric postcards from a postcard swap I participated in on MQ Resource. It’s the first time I’ve been involved in a swap, and the first time I’ve ever made a fabric postcard. It was a lot of fun to be a part of.  Here’s the postcards I’ve gotten so far. fabric postcards Don’t they look colorful? The theme was lyrics from the Beach Boys song, “I get around”, or anything that represents summer to you. It’s been fun going to the mailbox and finding another card. I’m easily amused, it doesn’t take much!

Comments on: "Aug. 5, 2009" (7)

  1. congratulations on getting that quilt done before the retreat. I have been leaving you alone this week so you can get it done. Now I get to see you today! Yeah.
    The quilt turned out beautiful.
    Have fun this weekend.
    Cindy

  2. Your quilting is beautiful!! I promise to get your missing postcard to you soon!

    I’m patiently waiting Vicki.

  3. I really like the quilting you did on this one. You’re not the only one who is glad the Heat Wave is over, man was it hot. I’m a new quilter who learns a lot from MQS videos also. I’m happy to see how Debs Border look in quilts.

    Thank you Terry. Today was beautiful, wasn’t it?

  4. TeresaL said:

    Carie, your quilting looks great and compliments the quilt pattern. You do such beautiful work!

    Have a wonderful time on your retreat!

    Thank you Teresa.

  5. vicki is not the only postcard slacker…mine are almost done.

    The quilting is beautiful and very complimentary to the top.

  6. Very nice Carie, it has been too hot for sure, today I have on a sweatshirt, Oregon weather!

    I guess I don’t get the postcard thing, what do you do with them anyway???? Now the inchies that Carla was doing and how she showcased them was cool but the postcards NOT… I would rather spend my time on something that will become something awesome, just my thing I guess, the postcards are kinda gawdy…..

  7. Beautiful quilting, Carie– you’re right about that border from Deb– what a perfect match! i think I have to bookmark this post– I just quilted a Celtic Knot quilt that didn’t get such a nice border treatment…!!

    The postcards are lovely! What a cool way to display them– you can change them as you get new ones, or color coordinate them… lots of possibilities there. I think they are so interesting and eye-catching– I know customers always like to poke around our studios, and this gives them something really fun to look at!

    Thank you Susan. I really enjoyed learning how to make the postcards, and it was fun to get them in the mail from all over. Little pieces of art, they make me smile. I’ve gotten a good response from my customers too. They like to see the different things I try. I’m always willing to try something new, and to look at things with an open mind.

Leave a Reply

