Longarm quilting and snippets of my life

Novel quilt

I mentioned in a previous post about the little quilt I was making as a part of a group of women in my guild, that are part of a book club kind of thing. We read the same book, then interpret it into a quilt. This last book was, “The Egg and I” by Betty MacDonald. Briefly, it was about a young woman who got married. Her husband had a dream to run his own chicken ranch. They bought property in the Olympic mountains in WA. It’s a true story and it was a fun story to read. Here’s my little quilt.

egg quilt egg quilt 2 It’s my interpretation of their little chicken ranch in the shape of an egg. I machine quilted it on my Pfaff sewing machine. It’s much harder to quilt on a domestic machine than my longarm, in my opinion. But I wasn’t worried about stitch length or making it a show piece. It was just for fun. I’m going to add some beads to the trees to make it look like apple trees. I found just the right chicken buttons at JoAnn’s. Then I’m going to make a faced binding. I may be needing to call my friend Lynn to find out how to do that. This was a fun project to work on.

Comments on: "Novel quilt" (7)

  1. Oh my gosh, Carie! This is a wonderful piece! I love it!

  2. That is so cute and clever!

  3. You did a very nice job. Very cute.

  4. That is sooooo cute Carie! What a great piece!

  5. That is a wonderful quilt – great idea!

  6. carie said:

    Thank you all so much.

  7. TeresaL said:

    I thought I left a response here….but don’t see it. I very much like what you’ve come up with and also the idea behind making these quilts. Neat idea, great quilt!

Leave a Reply

