Longarm quilting and snippets of my life

Working on gifts

I’ve been busy this past week working on some Christmas gifts. I got this great idea from 3 Creative Studios thanks to Vicki. I followed the tutorial for making gift boxes and I’m making these I’ve got a bunch of Christmas fat quarters and I’m able to use 2 FQ to make 2 boxes. Jim is helping with the hand sewing of the sides. I’m a lucky woman!

I also tried dyeing some bamboo socks. I’m not sure I like the results of the dyeing, but they’re very soft and comfy. They’re bright, and really took the dye well. I’m not liking these though That green is very Kermit! The red turned out a weird color. The dyes didn’t blend as well as they do with cotton fabric and I’m not convinced of the colorfastness of them. The jury is still out as to whether or not they’ll be part of the gifts.

While I had the dyes out I dyed some fabric. I tried my had at making a gradient with my new gray color. I love it, don’t know what I’m going to do with it, but it’s purdy! This is what my most recent new project is going to be. This is a sample block to get the technique down, using some of my hand dyed fabrics I did this summer. I’m planning on making a skinny quilt from this book with some of Vicki’s hand dyed gradient fabrics I bought from her Etsy shop.

So, tomorrow I’m back to making more gift boxes. I’ve got some pieces cut and ready to go.

Comments on: "Working on gifts" (4)

  1. Those boxes are really pretty and it looks like a lot of work. Your elf is
    A D O R A B L E ! I like the sock they are pretty. Do I get the green ones? It’s not easy being green.

  2. Hmmmm, I wonder if I can get my husband to do the hand sewing on some of those boxes? LOL! Never! They are addictive, aren’t they?

  3. Those boxes are awesome! I happen to love the socks, too, and I think you should send the green ones to me!

  4. Hey Carrie! Many years, no see!

    You are the quilting QUEEN! Wow. We saw something on TV a while back on quilt making that used gradient fabrics. Looked so easy and cool. If only I could sew a straight line… 🙂

    Hope you are doing well.

    Chris

Leave a Reply

