Longarm quilting and snippets of my life

Every year, for as long as I can remember, we’ve had home made toffee. My mom makes it and many years ago I started making it myself. It just isn’t Christmas without it. So, I thought I’d share my receipe. It’s a lot like almond roca, and very addictive. That’s why I only make it a Christmas. So here it goes.

You need: 1cp sugar, 1/2 cp sliced almonds, 1/2 lb. of butter (not margarine), 5 tbsp water (which is just about 1/3 cp), 1 tsp baking soda. For the topping you’ll need: 2 huge chocolate bars, and some chopped walnuts.  Prepare a cookie sheet, with sides, by putting foil on it and buttering it  Don’t forget to protect your countertop surface, this stuff is as hot as molten lava  Now for the fun stuff. Put the butter, sugar, water and almonds in a medium pot over medium heat  Be prepared to stir this for about 20 minutes. I get a stool and park it, stirring constantly. It starts to look like this, keep stirring  You’ll keep stirring until it turns into a golden brown color and starts to pull away from the sides of the pot… almost there  When this gets to the right color, take if off the heat and stir in the baking soda. This will make it more airy. Immediately pour this molten lava goodness onto the cookie sheet.  Leave it to settle and cool. When it’s cooled off, and that doesn’t really take very long, you’ll need to melt one of the chocolate bars, I use a double boiler  When the chocolate is nice and melted and creamy, spread it on top of the toffee and sprinkle some chopped walnuts on top of that.  Now you leave it alone, for quite awhile, so the chocolate can re-harden. When it’s ready, you’ll flip this over and coat the other side the same way. When that’s all cooled off, it’s time to break it into bite sized pieces.  Now I have to warn you, don’t try to sample a little piece until you’re ready to break the whole thing. You see, if you have a little bit of OCD, you’ll want to keep breaking off pieces to “make it even” and before you know it, you’ve eaten way too much! It is very important to lick the spatula after you’re through spreading the chocolate though.

I hope if you decide to try it, you’ll love it as much as we do.

Comments on: "Holiday tradition" (4)

  1. TeresaL said:

    Toffee is one of my favorite candies so hearing/reading about this has my mouth watering. I’m going to print this off and make it…someday (after I’m back at my goal weight).

    Thank you for sharing your recipe & all the photos!!

  2. Sarah said:

    I used to make toffee every year until one time it sugared on every attempt. Perhaps this would be the time to try it again. THanks for the alternate recipe and the incentive!!

  3. I am so glad you’re my sister and I don’t have to make this. I hope I also get some from Mom too. Yours is better then Mom’s anyway. 🙂
    Cin

    Oh sure, butter me up! I have to agree though, mine is better.

  4. Ruh roh, I’m gonna be in big trouble now! Toffee is my favorite candy!

Leave a Reply

