Longarm quilting and snippets of my life

Ouch!

This is what happens when a horse gets spooked and pulls back, really hard, and you don’t let go in time. MAJOR rope burn. I volunteer for a therapeutic riding organization (TROT).  It’s a lot of fun, and you can see the improvement in the riders from week to week. I think I get as much out of it as the riders do.  Well, I can’t show you the un-bandaged pics, too gross. It’s slowed me down some, since I’m right-handed and a complete moron when trying to do things with my left hand, which has only one finger injured. One good thing to come out of this, is that I’m limited on doing  cooking and cleaning.  Oh darn! Our son, Robert, turned 20 and we had a family birthday party for him.  Jim had to do all the cleaning and getting the house ready. It was good for him, but torture on me. Do you know how hard it is to sit around while someone else is doing all the work? I don’t know how Jim does it. It must be a guy thing.

So, while sitting around, not able to do much, I managed to start to knit some socks. I know how to knit scarves and very simple things, but I love hand knit socks. Since Cindy can’t make me socks fast enough for me, I decided to make my own. Or, at least attempt to. So I got this far, and I don’t understand the rest. Cindy will help me, but not too bad eh? Interestingly, this doesn’t hurt my hands. My hands stay fairly stationary so I can cruise right along. I’m using self-striping  yarn and they’re turning out pretty cute. I’ve got the second sock started.

Today, I am going to try to quilt. I’m still working on the Irish chain quilt, Jim’s going to have to assist me in trimming and turning it. It’s a biggie. I’d better get busy.

Leave a Reply

