Longarm quilting and snippets of my life

Summers are busy

I’m still quilting and creating, it’s just that there’s so many things to do in the summer I don’t take the time to sit at my computer. We’ve been camping and hiking and thoroughly enjoying the warm weather. It hasn’t been too hot here in the NW, until this weekend. It’s supposed to be near 100 for the next several days. I’m thinking tomorrow’s hike will be at the coast where it will be a bit cooler. Our son, Robert, moved back home. His roommate was a major flake and an all around bad situation. Robert got a new job in Portland, making more money than his old job. He’ll live here until he gets himself back on his feet financially and then he’ll work on finding a new apartment. For now, I’m happy he’s here. He’s a wonderful man, and it’s a pleasure having him around again. We had to put our 15 yr old dog, Rex, down earlier this week. He was an amazing dog, and a great companion.  He is truly missed.

Here’s some of the smaller projects I’ve completed. This was my first hand applique’ project. The pattern is from the book, “Applique Outside the Lines”. I just did some doodly sort of quiting The background piece is one of Vicki Welch’s hand dyed gradient fabrics. She’s added some really cool stuff to her Etsy shop, you should check it out.

This is a small piece I made for my local quilt shop, Fibers and Stitches. It was made with a single cut of fabric that had a ombre stripe. We wanted to make something to show people something different you could do with that unusual fabric. Kind of cool, kind of different.

Today I’m taking a paper piecing class at the quilt shop. I always seem to get upside down and backwards when I try it on my own. I’m hoping the class will help me. I’d better get my stuff packed for class. Have a great weekend.

Comments on: "Summers are busy" (6)

  1. I’m so sorry to hear about Rex. I am sure he is telling all of his new buddies about the great life he had with your family.

    The wall hangings both look great but, of course, I love the one done with the gradient! It’s spectacular!

  2. I am so sorry about Rex. 😦

    I love that applique piece, Carie! It’s fabulous!

  3. I’m sorry to hear of you loss… it’s never easy losing a pet. They become such a big part of the family.

    You wall hanging is scrumptious!!!

  4. I know how hard it was for you to make the decision that was best for Rex. Big hugs to you for being brave.

    I am so inspired by your applique piece! It’s stunning! Love Vicki’s gradient fabric, and the way you quilted it is yummy! I also really like the quilt that was made from the ombre fabric. Looks very cool!

  5. It is never an easy decision to put down a beloved pet. I’m priviledged to have a wonderful vet, who is understanding and kind. I’m sorry for your loss. Lovely applique,,,I like to DO applique, but I have a very hard time preparing it!

  6. Love your applique quilt…the colours and the quilting are amazing. I found your blog on Vicki’s fiber field trip.

Leave a Reply

