Longarm quilting and snippets of my life

I designed and made this quilt for my older brother Scott, for his 50th birthday. I gave it to him over the past weekend, so it’s OK to show you now. He really likes Native American designs and red is his favorite color. I quilted it with Native American¬† designs from different tribes’ bead work and basket work, which I found in the book “Native American Designs 2. ¬† I love the way it all shows up on the back. He loved it, of course, and I’m so happy and proud to have made it for him.

Click on any of the pics to see them larger.

Comments on: "I can finally show you" (11)

  1. Ann Schock said:


  2. It’s beautiful! I love the quilting that you did on it too.

  3. Fabulous Carie!

  4. Just love it… love the colors and all the quilt designs!

  5. Your work is fantastic! The color choices, geometry and amazing quilting really work well together. I’m so glad your brother likes it too. What a great gift for a memorable year.

  6. Karen Smith said:

    Exactly the pattern I have been looking for to make a quilt for our bed! Do you have a published pattern or download I could buy? Trying to approximate the look of a Navajo blanket we bought in Monument Valley. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

    • Carie said:

      Karen, I finally dug up that pattern. I designed it on EQ5 but make changes as I went along to eliminate some seams. I’m sorry but I don’t have a pattern for you. I would be happy to send you a diagram of the block and maybe you could recreate it. It’s just a bunch of half-square triangles and some squares. I designed the top and bottom “arrows” as a paper pieced border to fit the quilt. I don’t have any diagram for that.

      • Jeanne Parent said:

        Hello Carie, Love your quilts. I have EQ7, so, i am new to using it, any tips on how i could recreate that block? If you don’t mind of cours. My friend is just stuck on that design and no other will do. I see how it is done. What size are the blocks? Any help would be appriciated.

        Jeanne Parent

  7. Gary Rivers said:

    Carie, your work is quite wonderful. I have been looking for this type of design for my own home bedroom quilts. Do you accept custom orders? Best wishes,

  8. This is one of the most beautiful quilts I have ever seen. Amazing. What size squares did you use?

Leave a Reply

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

