Longarm quilting and snippets of my life

After taking quite a bit of time off from blogging, (over 2 years), I thought I would give it a try again. The past couple of years have been very difficult for me personally. I was getting burnt out on quilting, I lost a very important relationship, and I just wasn’t feeling very creative. I would quilt quilts for others, but just couldn’t get into doing anything creative for myself. It was a big struggle. After working through it all, I’m finally getting my groove back. And it’s exciting! I’ve got all kinds of ideas for quilts I want to make, and other creative crafty things I want to try. So come along on this journey of creativity and exploration and we’ll see where it takes us. I’m still continuing to take customer quilts, so contact me if you need some long arm quilting done.

I started a Facebook page for my quilty stuff. “Like” my page at www.facebook.com/SewNowWhat  It’s all a work in progress, so bear with me while I figure all this stuff out.

This is a quilt I made for my bed. Bed quilt I have a king sized bed, and the last time I made a quilt for it I swore I wouldn’t make another one. That was until I came across the patterns and ruler by Sew Kind of Wonderful. For one, Jenny’s quilting is to die for! Her patterns are fun and her ruler makes them easy. I bought the “Abacus” pattern because I wanted something to showcase the cute fabrics I bought. Even though it wasn’t too hard to make, it took a long time. Over 280 blocks to cover my bed. I love the way it looks, but I won’t be making another quilt for my bed for a LONG time. It’s just too much! I haven’t put it on my bed yet because I used silk batting so it could be a warm weather quilt. I’m planning on putting it on in the spring. I’ll post the whole quilt when that happens.

That’s all for now. I’m looking forward to sharing projects, and fun stuff in the future.

My husband and I have been doing a lot of hiking and backpacking. Most of my summer is spent out in the forest somewhere. I have exciting trips planned for this year. You can follow those adventures on my other blog, Hitting the Trail, if you’re interested.

Leave a Reply

