Longarm quilting and snippets of my life

Feathers quilt

I started this Feathers quilt at the beginning of the year. FeathersPatternJUSTcover1 The pattern can be found here. I loved the graphic look of this quilt and I had the idea of really playing with the colors.  I knew I wanted the background to be dark purple. So this is how I layed it out to get the gradated look I wanted.Layout  I kept things organized by pinning the strips to the actual paper patterns.  I was really excited and motivated to work on this quilt. There are more “in progress” pictures on my Flickr page. This is the first large paper piecing project I’ve done. It’s kind of a pain when you’re putting it all together with the paper still on. Putting it all together Once that was done, it was on to the task of removing all the paper. Paper removal This actually wasn’t too bad, because I did most of it while I talked with my dear friend on the phone ( thanks Lynn ).  Here’s the completed top. Finished top Millie approved! Millie approved Now for the task of quilting it. I’m not too sure how I’m going to approach it, but it always comes to me in the end. I have to say, I really love this quilt. It turned out exactly how I envisioned.

Comments on: "Feathers quilt" (4)

  1. I am so in love with it! You busted a move on that thing! I still only have the first row done, but I will push on! So glad I could help you with removing the paper. LOL! Anything for you, my friend!

  2. Very very pretty and colorful. You have such a vision and a talent like no other.

  3. Kathy Reilly said:

    All your planning up front really paid off Carie, it’s just breathtaking.

  4. Carie said:

    Thank you!

Leave a Reply

